Shortcut to Main Shortcut to Menu


Kakao Customer Service Main

Back up & Restore Chats

Back up & Restore Chats Category

Back up & Restore Chats Main

You can restore your chat history if you have already backed up your data on KakaoTalk. Your backed up data will be stored in our cloud server and be available for restoring. You can also back up and restore between different devices/OS. 

* Please read the following instructions carefully.


[How to Back Up]


1. Go to More > Settings > Chats > Chat Backup.

2. Tap the option "Chat Backup" once again.

3. Set up a password to encrypt your data.

    * Please make sure you remember your password. You will not be able to restore the data if you forget your password.

4. Wait until the backup process is completed.

    * Do not launch another app while backup is in progress.

    * It might take awhile depending on the size of the data.

    * Data charges may apply if you are connected to a 3G/LTE network.

5. Once the backup is completed, please read the instructions and be sure to remember the expiry date for your data.


[How to Restore]


1. Verify your phone number and log in with your Kakao Account.

    * If you skip logging in, you will be regarded as a new user and all your previous data will be removed. In order to restore your backed up data, you must log in at this step.

2. If you have already backed up your chat history on KakaoTalk, you can restore your data after entering your profile information. Please check the backup date and OS information of your data and then proceed by tapping "Restore."

3. Enter your password you have set to back up your chat history.

    * You will not be able to restore your chat history if you forget your password, so please make sure you remember it.

4. Wait until the restore process is completed.

    * Do not launch another app while restoring is in progress.

    * It might take awhile depending on the size of the data.

    * Data charges may apply if you are connected to a 3G/LTE network.

5. Once restoring is completed, tap the Get Started button and start using KakaoTalk.


[NOTE]


* Only text messages will be backed up. Note that the following data will not be backed up: 

    - Photos, videos and text messages over 1,000 characters 

    - Text messages in secret chats and open chats 

* You can restore your data within 14 days of the backup. The data will be permanently deleted after 14 days of the backup. 

* You can restore your backed up data when you reinstall KakaoTalk. Don't forget to log in with your Kakao Account after verifying your phone number. If you don't log in with the Kakao Account you used to back up your data, you will NOT be able to restore your data. Please make sure you log in with your Kakao Account at this step.

* You cannot restore your data if you unregister from KakaoTalk or delete your Kakao Account.

* When you restore your chat history, additional chat history after the time of backup will also be restored. However, only the last 3 days of your chat history will be restored.

Only text can be backed up (except for messages over 1,000 characters.) 


Please save important photos and videos from your chats separately. 

You may restore your chat history up to 14 days after backup. Restoration will not be possible after 14 days.

If you have already signed up for KakaoTalk without restoring your chat history, please delete the KakaoTalk app and reinstall it. 

If you already have your backup ready to go, you'll be able to restore your chat history when signing up. 


* Please note that you have just 14 days from the time you backed up your chats to restore it to KakaoTalk. After 14 days it will be too late. 

You may not see the Restore page if:

(1) You have not backed up your data in advance;
(2) You have unregistered from KakaoTalk or removed your Kakao account;
(3) You have reinstalled KakaoTalk and verified your phone number but have not logged in with your previous Kakao account and thus you have been considered signing up as a new user.

Please note that in the cases listed above, restoring your previous chat data is not available.

You will not be able to restore your chat history if you forget your password.